Coachella 2012

In addition to enjoying fantastic date shakes, the 2012 Coachella Valley Music and Arts Festival also provides the Coachellaopportunity to see a myriad of great bands. This may include acts that may sell out or be difficult to see in your city (Radiohead). It also provides a chance to see some bands you won’t pony up for on their own bill but are curious about; or to obviously see and hear new or even known acts and form new opinions about their craft (Keep Shelly in Athens).

Coachella 2012 Poster (original lineup)

Coachella 2012 Poster (original lineup)

I’m not going to critique the strength of April’s  Coachella 2012 lineup. It is strong enough to get me to attend and to sell out over two weekends. Sure there are changes that I would make (I for one was really hoping we’d get a Stone Roses reunion gig), but those are moot at this point.

Rather, over the next week or so, I’m going to take a look at all three days of the festival in terms of my personal interest, ie. high (must-sees), medium (want-to-sees), and low (probably-won’t-sees).

Obviously at this point, we don’t know the schedule, but the high interests are groups I’ll plan my day around. The medium interests are bands who won’t usurp the must-sees, but are ones I certainly want to work into the schedule.

The low interest acts are bands I just have no interest in, right, wrong, or indifferent. In some cases, these are bands most of the attendees will fawn over, but they just don’t move me to action. In other cases, they are bands I saw before and left me underwhelmed.

For each, I’ll try and paint a snapshot of my reasoning, which may include past live experiences, favorite albums, or other reasons.

The Arts Festival portion of Coachella is not to be overlooked. Last year I thought the installations were quite interesting. They provide great scenery and are certainly worth milling about the grounds to check each one out throughout your time at Indio’s Empire Polo Club. From what I understand, the installations get better each year.

As noted, I’ll link each snapshot to and from this article. Look for those posts to pop up over the next week or so.

Tagged , , , , , ,

One thought on “Coachella 2012

  1. […] As noted earlier, I’m running through all three days of Coachella 2012 to point out my must-sees, medium interests, and low interest acts. Below is Day One. […]

Leave a Reply

